Where is the SSID that I just configured?

I was playing in my lab today and ran into an issue where my Aruba access point would not advertise my newly created SSID on my local controller. I started digging around and first noticed my AP was up but  was flagged inactive:

acmx_-_troubleshooting_ap_not_active

Next I checked to see if that access point was advertising a bss:

acmx_-_troubleshooting_ap_not_active_-_sh_ap_bss

The next step was to check and see if I had any profile errors:

acmx_-_troubleshooting_ap_not_active_-_sh_profile-errors

And there is the problem.  I configured my VLAN on my master controllers but forgot about the locals.  As soon as I added VLAN 100 to my local I could see  and connect to my SSID:

acmx_-_troubleshooting_ap_not_active_-_fixed_by_adding_VLAN

The point of this story is to not get in a hurry when configuring your controllers and make sure your networking config is solid on your local controllers.

Leave a comment